Indonesia is the largest archipelagic nation on the planet. Satellite data from the Indonesian Aviation and Space Institute have shown that within the archipelago there are in total 18,108 islands. Only about 6,000 of these islands are inhabited with Java accounting for more than half the nation's population. Straddling the equator and wedged between the Indian and the Pacific Oceans the country covers three time zones and a total land area of 1,811,569 sq km.